Giannis Antetokounmpo



TEAM: Milwaukee Bucks                              POSITION: Power Forward

HT/WT: 6′ 11″, 242 lbs                                     DOB: 12/6/1994 (27)

DRAFT INFO: 2013: Rd 1, Pk 15 (MIL)        STATUS: Active

EXPERIENCE: 6th Season                               BIRTHPLACE: Athens, Greece

Career History

Milwaukee Bucks: 2013-CURRENT (9 SEASONS)

Career Highlights

4xAll-NBA 1st Team (2022, 2021, 2020, 2019)

4xAll-Defensive 1st Team (2022, 2021, 2020, 2019)

Finals MVP (2021)

All-Star MVP (2021)

2xMVP (2020, 2019)

Defensive Player of the Year (2020)

2xAll-NBA 2nd Team (2018, 2017)

Most Improved Player (2017)

All-Defensive 2nd Team (2017)

All-Rookie 2nd Team (2014)

Giannis Sina Ugo Antetokounmpo (born December 6, 1994) is a Nigerian-Greek professional basketball player for the Milwaukee Bucks of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The term “Greek Freak” was given to Antetokounmpo because of his nationality, as well as his stature, speed, strength, and ball-handling abilities.

Antetokounmpo began his basketball career with the Filathlitikos youth teams in Athens, where he was born and raised. He began playing for the club’s senior team in 2011 before being drafted 15th overall by the Bucks in the 2013 NBA draught. He led the Bucks in all five major statistical categories in 2016–17, becoming the first player in NBA history to finish a regular season in the top 20 in each of the five categories of total points, rebounds, assists, thefts, and blocks. In 2017, he was named the Most Improved Player. Antetokounmpo has been selected to six All-Star games, including being named All-Star captain in 2019 and 2020, after he led the Eastern Conference in votes.

Antetokounmpo, one of basketball’s most decorated players, earned back-to-back NBA Most Valuable Player Awards in 2019 and 2020, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and LeBron James as the only players in NBA history to win two MVPs before the age of 26. In addition to his MVP honor, he was voted NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 2020, making him only the third player in NBA history to earn both accolades in the same season, behind Michael Jordan (1988) and Hakeem Olajuwon (1994). Antetokounmpo was awarded Finals MVP in 2021 after leading the Bucks to their first NBA title since 1971. In the same year, he was named to the NBA 75th Anniversary Team, which recognized him as one of the league’s best players of all time.

Professional career

Filathlitikos (2011–2013)

Milwaukee Bucks (2013–present)

Early years in Milwaukee (2013–2016)

First All-Star years (2016–2018)

Back-to-back MVP awards (2018–2020)

NBA championship and Finals MVP (2020–2021)

Conference Semifinals upset (2021–present)

Noah Davis
Former Collegiate Basketball Player Currently working as a sports writer sports enthusiast and Basketball lover

Joel Embiid

Previous article

Kyrie Irving

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *